RSS

Arsenal’s Frimpong ready to play for Ghana

16 Feb
Arsenal’s Frimpong ready to play for Ghana

Emmanuel FrimpongArsenal midfielder Emmanuel Frimpong says he is ready to play for Ghana despite strong interest from England.

The 19-year-old who has already featured for England at the under 16 and 19 levels is just two months from recovering from a 9 month injury.

He was praised by manager, Arsene Wenger for his performance during the 2010 Emirates Cup after which he picked the injury.

Frimpong, who has been likened to Arsenal’s Alex Song, says he will only play for Ghana if he is invited for the Black Stars.

In an exclusive interview with Citi Sports from his base in London, Emmanuel Frimpong said he will not hesitate to play for Ghana if he gets a Black Stars call up when he is fully fit.

“I have always said that I will play for Ghana because I am a Ghanaian Player. My whole family is from Ghana but at the same time, I have been in England since I was young and I see England as my home. But at the moment, if Ghana calls me up I will gladly go and play. But there are people who also don’t want me be called to play for Ghana which is very disappointing. I guess I just have to wait for a call up but at the moment I am still playing for England so it’s a bit of a difficult situation” he said.

“I have always told my family that if Ghana calls me, I will personally ride my own bicycle from England to Ghana” the Midfielder said on a lighter note.

Emmanuel Frimpong added that Arsenal are still favorites to win the English Premier League.

The Gunners are trailing Manchester United by 4 points.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on 16 February, 2011 in SPORTS

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
